Glory’s Healthy, Wealthy and Wise

August 21, 2009

New Diet Additions

Filed under: Health — gloryshealthywealthyandwise @ 6:00 pm

I’m not really a “supplement person”, but I went to a new doctor (referral from a friend) who is a holistic MD, Dr. Emily Lindner, in Chicago.

After going over several life/health areas, she concluded that my “allergy” symptoms could be a result of too much mold, which could be coming from the amount of fruit I eat every day. (I probably have 4 servings every morning.) That was a tough one. I really like fruit. And it’s very cleansing. But, as the doctor said, “Fruit is moldy.” Yes, it probably is. So, in this area, I’m sticking with my morning smoothie, to which I now add green leafy vegetables (such as spinach, kale, collard, chard, etc.). There is still a lot of fruit in the smoothie. But I don’t eat any additional fruit. (I snack on either vegetables or nuts between the early morning smoothie and lunch.)

Meanwhile, Dr. Lindner added a few supplements. First, more oils. Udos oils, actually. I’m taking 2 T per day (stirred into the smoothie) + 3 Udos capsules. Also, about 1 or 2 teaspoons of coconut oil, melted in 1/2 cup hot water (which I pour into the smoothie — that contains frozen fruit, so it’s not too warm!).

Next, she added 4000 IU of vitamin D3. (Interesting.)  And a B12 complex.  I was already taking a supplement (my one, original supplement) that is designed to strengthen the thyroid, Thyrostim

On my own, I added a fish oil from a fish called Krill, and the variety is the Neptune Krill.

The most interesting outcome so far is that my nails have grown, all at the same time, and seem really strong. That’s a bonus.  I still sneeze, though. We’ll have to see how the allergies are over the winter.

For my actual diet, still no meat (of course), a lot of vegetables, and no (or very little) wheat, dairy, & sugar. A lot of raw food.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.